An Encounter with the Holy Spirit

As you may know, I love the old hymns! I love the latest contemporary worship too. I enjoy worshiping the Lord with guitar, drums, and keys. But there will always be a place in my heart for the Old hymns. Perhaps it is because in my childhood my mother would take me and my siblings to the old Lutheran Church, where we would sing those old Hymns. My mother once commented that she loved that old church because when she went, “You knew you had been to church.” I think what my mom was saying was that she experienced the presence of God in that old church.
Encounters with the Holy Spirit are not limited to the early church as seen in Acts chapter 2. Encounters with the Holy Spirit are not limited to any one denomination. And encounters with the Holy Spirit of God are not new.
A man by the name of Charles Austin Miles had such an encounter one day in April 1912. Charles, a photographer, was in his darkroom reading John chapter 20 in his Bible. As he read, Charles saw in a vision Mary visiting the garden tomb and hearing the voice of her Savior calling her name. Charles recorded that he had awoke from the vision with is nerves vibrating and his muscles taught. He then penned the now famous words as fast as his pen could write.
I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear falling on my ear,
The Son of God discloses . . .

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other, has ever, known!

He speaks and the sound of His voice,
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that he gave to me,
Within my heart is ringing . . .

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other, has ever, known!

And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other, has ever, known!
Imagine you visited the tomb that wonderful Resurrection Sunday. Imagine the privilege of having the Savior lovingly call your name. What a mighty encounter with the Living God! Yet Charles knew God in a way that Marry Magdalene didn’t. Like those who know Jesus as their Savior today, Charles was filled with the Holy Spirit of God. The Bible says in Ephesians 1:13, “In him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit.”
Like Mary Magdalene, you and I have the opportunity to walk in the presence of the Living God. Like the old song says, He walks with us, and talks with us, and lovingly tells us we belong to Him! What a privilege we have!
Father in Heaven, Holy is Your Name! You are so great. How I praise You for Your presence in me through the Holy Spirit! May I never take this wonderful gift lightly. May I never cease to take full advantage of the privilege of encountering the Holy Spirit! In the wondrous Name of Jesus I pray, Amen!

Leave a Reply

