Slow Down

We live in a fast paced world. Our schedules are cram packed. Our days are filled with work, meetings, and phone calls. We have to take the kids here and there. We check the email, social media, voice-mail, and text messages. We have house work, and home projects. We have doctor appointments, dentist appointments, counseling appointments, and chiropractor appointments. The list goes on and on. The challenge with it all is the fact it is never ending.
Then every once in a while, for a brief time life slows down, or comes to a screeching halt. These are the times when we are reminded what is really important. A child graduates. A loved one dies. Your dear friends are getting a divorce. A baby is born. These are moments when the world slows down, when we slow down, and think about what really matters in life.
This year my youngest son graduated 5th grade. The picture of him holding his certificate is priceless! Today I got word that some old friends are considering divorced after several years of marriage. These are the times that cause me to pause and think about what really matters in my life.
The Gospel of Mark records the words of Jesus to His disciples who had been caught up in a fast paced life of ministry. Jesus said, in Mark 6:31, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” I think this is great counsel for us today. Why wait until something really great or, something really terrible happens to consider our priorities in life? Jesus offers us today the same amazing offer He gave His disciples. I can almost hear our Savior saying, “Come away with Me to a quiet place and rest a while.”
Father in Heaven, I pray that you would meet me there in those quiet places where I come to You each day, to learn from Your Word, to share with You my heart, and to listen to Your voice. Give me the strength and commitment to slow down every day, that I might find rest in You. I pray this in Jesus Name, Amen.

Pastor Brian H. Fontaine bfontaine74@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

