When we open the Bible…

images

When we open the Bible
I remember running into the father of one of my high-school friends shortly after getting my first apartment. He asked me what I have been up to lately and a little embarrassed I told him about my new place. It was a small 2 bedroom above a print shop in the less than desirable section of town. He told me, “Son, it doesn’t matter where you start out in life. What matters is where you end up.”
I understood what my friend’s father was telling me and there is some truth in what he said yet, where we start out in our view of the truth, authority, and authenticity of the Bible has a direct impact on where we end up. If there is no absolute truth we are under no obligation or compulsion to follow the Bible. If the Bible is not the authoritative word of God we have no responsibility to follow it. Finally if the Bible is not authentic, if it has not been translated correctly down through the ages, then we are not indebted to keep its words.
Yet, if the Bible is what It claims to be, the very word of God…
The Word of God is absolute, authoritative, and authentic!
When we open the Bible we are opening a translation of an ancient text supernaturally preserved down through the ages for our generation.
When we read the Bible the Holy Spirit of God illumines the Living Word and applies it to specific circumstances in our lives providing guidance, and counsel.
The Bible was written by ordinary men inspired by the very Spirit of God.
Therefore, when we read the Bible we take counsel with Living God, the King above all kings and the Lord of all lords.
Matthew 4:4 But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”
Father in Heaven, may we not live on bread alone, but on every word of Yours, the Living God! Make us hungry for Your Word, I pray in Jesus Name, Amen!
To Read more on the absolute, authoritative, and authentic word of God, Check out this article.
http://wefcvalpo.com/from-the-pastors-desk/2013/05/it-starts-here-the-foundation-of-the-word-of-god/
Pastor Brian H. Fontaine bfontaine74@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “When we open the Bible…

  1. This brings to mind 2 Timothy 3:16-17, “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, and training in righteousness, that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” I memorized this verse a while back and wrote a paper on it. Thank you for proclaiming the truth!

    Like

    • I love it! I’m so thankful for the Word of God. I tell the Lord, “Thank You,” a lot for His Word. I can’t imagine life without it. Thanks for reading! God’s blessings, Pastor Brian H. Fontaine

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

