John Denver, The Dentist, and Jesus

johndenver2

Going to the dentist is never an enjoyable time, however, the other day I was blessed to have my dentist suggest I listen to music on my mp3 player as she pulled my tooth. It was nice to be able to focus on my music as the doctor was busy working my stubborn tooth loose. The procedure was going well when suddenly my tooth broke in half. I was assure that this was not uncommon and they would have the rest of my tooth out in no time. As I sat there reclined in the dentist chair the song “Sweet Surrender,” by John Denver came on my mp3 player. The chorus of the song says:
“Sweet, sweet surrender, live, live without care,
like a fish in the water, like a bird in the air.
Sweet, sweet surrender, live, live without care,
like a fish in the water, like a bird in the air.”
The irony of the situation hit me all at once and I began to laugh. I had three hands and two tools in my mouth and I’m listening to a song encouraging me to, “Live without care.”
The spiritual correlation occurred to me as well. The places the Lord leads us are sometimes challenging. They might not always be fun, and care free. Yet as the Psalmist reminds us, “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me,” (Psalm 23:4 ESV). In the presence of the great and awesome living God I can sing, “Sweet surrender, to You Lord, I will live without care, like a fish in the water, and like a bird in the air!”

Leave a Reply

