We are in BIG Trouble

sun

Psalm 18:16-21

16 He sent from on high, he took me;
    he drew me out of many waters.
17 He rescued me from my strong enemy
    and from those who hated me,
    for they were too mighty for me.
18 They confronted me in the day of my calamity,
    but the Lord was my support.
19 He brought me out into a broad place;
    he rescued me, because he delighted in me.

20 The Lord dealt with me according to my righteousness;
    according to the cleanness of my hands he rewarded me.
21 For I have kept the ways of the Lord,
    and have not wickedly departed from my God.

King David wrote this Psalm after a miraculous deliverance from those who sought his life.  The feeling of the whole Psalm is jubilant.  David was so thankful for the power of God to rescue him from the depth of despair.

Have you ever been in a similar situation where it seems as though things couldn’t get any worse?  I’m reminded of those times in the winter where the car hits a patch of ice and you lose control of the vehicle.  You cry out to the the living God, “HELP ME LORD GOD!”

King David made a bold statement when he said, “The Lord dealt with me according to my righteousness.”  This thought occurred to me, “Am I comfortable with the idea of the Lord dealing with me according to my righteousness?”  How about you?  Are you comfortable with the idea of the Lord dealing with you according to your righteousness? Many of us would not dare pray such a prayer knowing that we have been living in unrighteousness.  In fact if God dealt with us solely according to our righteousness, many of us would be in BIG trouble.

Time after time the Bible reminds us of the truth, God blesses those who walk in righteousness.  Psalm 119:1 says, “Blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the Lord!” Psalm 37:6 says, “He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.”  May we allow God to bring forth our righteousness as the light, that He might deal with us bountifully, according to our righteousness!

Leave a Reply

