Stop Trying to be God!

 

to be GodA personal note:  This is a struggle for me.  I love helping people work through some of the tough stuff in life.  I love helping people discover, apply, and find victory through Biblical truth applied to their individual situations.  The problem is I then take their problems on as my own.  I worry myself sick about the broken marriages, families, relationships, and lives of those I counsel.  I can almost hear God screaming, “STOP TRYING TO BE GOD!!!”

Ecclesiastes 4

Being a Christian can be tough. God calls us to carrying one another’s burdens to support, help, and encourage each other. This can be overwhelming and draining if done in our own power. Paul reminds us in his letter to the Philippian church that it is God who is at work in us to will and to work according to His good pleasure. The truth is we don’t always rely on the power and strength of the Holy Spirit for the work God calls us to do. When this happens we end up trying to carry the burdens of others in our own strength. We end up trying to fix problems only God can fix. We end up worrying about things that are not ours to worry about.
Father in Heaven, help me today to minister in Your strength alone. Help me too, I pray, not to worry about things that are not in my control. Help me to keep in step with the Holy Spirit in everything I think, say, and do and leave the rest up to you. Help me find my own comfort and peace in You. You are great. I love You and thank You for Your miraculous love for me. I pray these things in Jesus Name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

