His Kingdom Come??

***Click Here to Listen to the Podcast***

kingdom

***Click here to listen to the Podcast***

I confess it can be so hard being the man God called me to be.  I struggle.  Even as a pastor, believe it or not.  Yes, I want to do big things for God.  I want His will to be done and His blessings in my marriage and family, and His blessings in my ministry.  However, I, like the rest of the world can get tangled up in the things of this world.  There are so may things calling out for our attention and devotion it is easy to get distracted.  We may even find that we are building our own kingdom instead of the kingdom of God.

How we build our kingdom: This is where we are naturally prone to invest.  This is the kingdom we are naturally prone to build.  Of course it is our Kingdom, not His.

1 John 2:16 For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life—is not from the Father but is from the world.

Lust of the flesh:  ungodly ways to please our flesh such as overeating, drug or alcohol abuse, and sexual encounters outside of marriage.   Numb the pain of the day on the TV, computer, or cell phone, live in the fantasy because it is better than the reality.

Lust of the eyes: Things of this world I believe will make me happy, cars, boats, RV’s, motorcycles, computers and cell phones, gadgets and gizmos, trinkets and toys.

The boastful pride of life:  Seeking acceptance, approval, and adoration from others through our ability, achievements, possessions, or our position in life.

The encouragement for us today is to follow the prompting of the Holy Spirt to invest in and build God’s kingdom.  This requires us to turn our focus outward and invest in others. 

In Matthew 25:14-30, we are encouraged to invest in God’s Kingdom!

“For it,” (The Kingdom of God,)  “will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted to them his property. 15 To one he gave five talents, to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16 He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. 17 So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. 18 But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money. 19 Now after a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them. 20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ 21 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant.[c] You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 22 And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.’ 23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 24 He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ 26 But his master answered him, ‘You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sown and gather where I scattered no seed? 27 Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and at my coming I should have received what was my own with interest. 28 So take the talent from him and give it to him who has the ten talents. 29 For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. 30 And cast the worthless servant into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Did you notice that Jesus said that the servant who had nothing, that is no interest on his investment, was worthless.  Can you imagine if the Lord said that of you or me?  We would be devastated!  Yet the Holy Spirit prompts us everyday to come outside of ourselves and invest, not in ourselves, but in God’s kingdom!

Want to hear more?  ***Click here to hear the Podcast***

God bless you!  And remember, if you wright me I will right you back. 😉

Pastor Brian

 

Leave a Reply

