What are you hiding?

eyes

As the old Eagles song says,

You can’t hide your lyin’ eyes And your smile is a thin disguise I thought by now you’d realize There ain’t no way to hide your lyin eyes

Do you ever try to hide your true feelings? Do you ever hide what’s going on inside. It might be harder than you think. In the same way, you can’t hide your lying eyes, we can’t really hide what’s going on in our hearts. The reason for this is revealed through the words of Jesus.

Jesus said in Luke 6:45, “The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

Have you ever said, “What are You looking at, What’s Your problem, or What’s wrong with him?” Do you roll your eyes, give an exaggerated sigh, or respond cynically to bad or unfavorable news? Do you tend to complain and argue? Are your friends or co-workers likely to categorize you as a pessimistic person? How about your family? Are you over all negative, critical, and judgmental?

Here is what you need to know. You have a heart problem and you can’t hide it. Out of the over flow of our hearts, our mouths speak. Think of it like a bank. You can only withdrawal what you put in. If what you are paying out in your attitude is negative, critical, and judgmental the ugly truth is that’s what’s in your heart.

You know the guy at the restaurant who is loud and obnoxious? He ruins your whole dinner and is blissfully unaware of how he is affecting others. Many of us are the same way. We are pessimistic, negative, critical, and judgmental and we don’t even realize how bad it is. The painful truth is that everyone else sees it all too well.

The good news is that we can change all of that. Like the old computer programming saying goes, “You put garbage in you get garbage out.” It is time we stop accepting negative input from the world around us. The culture says that you are only valuable if you drive the right car, live in the right neighborhood, and have the right job. The culture says you are only valuable if you look a certain way, and act a certain way. If we don’t fit into these cultural molds we are outcasts.

We also have to stop accepting negative input from others. We have to give up the notion that we must meet the standards of others at the expense of our God given dreams. A person might never meet the expectations of their earthly parents and still be in the center of God’s will. No one else can live our lives for us and we must be careful not to put too much weight on the expectations of others.

We also must be careful about the input we get from ourselves. We are sometimes guilty of negative self talk. We will tell ourselves things like, “I’m such an idiot, I could never do that, or I’m so crazy.” These lies pour garbage into our banks. When it comes time to interact with others we find ourselves paying out some pretty ugly stuff.

I recently posted an article about Positive Affirmations.  It is far better to make a practice of positive input. If you are a believer in God or follower of Jesus Christ, why not fill your heart with the truth of God?

According to the Bible:

I am blameless and free from accusation. (Colossians 1:22)

Christ Himself is in me. (Colossians 1:27)

I am firmly rooted in Christ and am now being built up in Him. (Col. 2:7)

I have been made complete in Christ. (Colossians 2:10)

I have been spiritually circumcised. My old unregenerate nature has been

removed. (Colossians 2:11)

I have been buried, raised, and made alive with Christ. (Colossians 2:12,13)

I died with Christ and I have been raised up with Christ. My life is now hidden

With Christ in God. Christ is now my life. (Colossians 1:1-4)

I am an expression of the life of Christ because He is my life. (Colossians 3:4)

I am chosen of God, holy and dearly loved. (Col. 3:12; 1 Thessalonians 1:4)

I am a son of light and not of darkness. (1 Thessalonians 5:5)

I have been given a spirit of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

I have been saved and set apart according to God’s doing.

(2 Timothy 1:9; Titus 3:5)

Because I am sanctified and am one with the Sanctifier, He is not ashamed

to call me brother. (Hebrews 2:11)

I am a holy partaker of a heavenly calling. (Hebrews 3:1)

I have the right to come boldly before the throne of God to find mercy and

grace in a time of need. (Hebrews4:16)

I have been born again. (1 Peter 1:23)

I am one of God’s living stones, being built up in Christ as a spiritual house.

(1 Peter 2:5)

I am a member of a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a

People for God’s own possession. (1 Peter 2:9,10)

I am an alien and stranger to this world in which I temporarily live.

(1 Peter 2:11)

I am an enemy of the devil. (1 Peter 2:11)

I have been given exceedingly great and precious promises by God by

Which I am a partaker of God’s divine nature. (2 Peter 1:4)

I am forgiven on the account of Jesus’ name. (1 John 2:12)

I am anointed by God. (1 John 2:27)

I am a child of God and I will resemble Christ when He returns. (1 John 3:1,2)

I am loved. (1 John 4:10)

I am like Christ. (1 John 4:10)

I have life. (1 John 5:12)

I am born of God, and the evil one…the devil…cannot touch me.

(1 John 5:`8)

I have been redeemed. (Revelation 5:9)

“Then you will know the truth and truth will set you FREE!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

