You can’t make rain

Not long ago the Lord expressly instructed me to begin teaching His Word and will.  He gave me the vision of an air traffic control tower and explained to me that, “You will direct traffic for My Kingdom.”  An air traffic controller leads people to safety and away from danger.  I took that to mean I was to serve as a way to direct people to Jesus and away from danger spiritually speaking. 

This morning as I was getting ready for work, I began thinking about what my next video should be.  But then I remembered how my previous videos and blog posts were born out of my Bible study and quiet time with the Lord.  As I sit quietly in the presence of God He speaks.  It is from those encounters with God I get words to minister. 

Today I sat down with the Bible.  My daily reading took me to Isaiah chapter 6.  Here Isaiah recorded in Isaiah 1:6-8, “In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple. 2 Seraphim were standing above Him, each having six wings: with two each covered his face, and with two each covered his feet, and with two each flew. 3 And one called out to another and said,

“Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord of armies.

The whole earth is full of His glory.”

4 And the foundations of the thresholds trembled at the voice of him who called out, while the temple was filling with smoke. 5 Then I said,

“Woe to me, for I am ruined!

Because I am a man of unclean lips,

And I live among a people of unclean lips;

For my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of armies.”

6 Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs. 7 He touched my mouth with it and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips; and your guilt is taken away and atonement is made for your sin.”

8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah’s ministry flowed out of his encounter with the living God.  I remember when I was a pastor of a small church in Northwest Indiana a member of the board proposed a 24-hour prayer service.  He envisioned having the doors of the church open for 24 hours on a given day where anyone could come by at anytime to pray.  Leaders would take shifts to insure someone was in the sanctuary every hour of the day and night.  This was, by the way, a good idea.  But when trying to encourage the rest of the elders and deacons to get on board with his idea he said, “I think we should do this, and I really think God is with me on this one.”  I think everyone knew what he meant but he sure made it sound like he came up with an idea and afterward decided God was with him on his idea.  Too often we live our lives that way. 

This morning after I read Isaiah 6 and had prayed, I sat in silence in the Holy Spirit.  After some time, I saw a vision of my house.  Rain was pouring down and gushing out of the downspout.  The Lord didn’t say anything, but I believe God was telling me he would supply the rain, the blessing, the refreshing, the fulfillment, and satisfaction.  My job is to direct the flow.  What a beautiful picture of ministry.  God provides the rain.  We direct the flow to bless God’s creation.  Let God love through you today.  Let God bless others through you today.  Spend time in the presence of God today so that he can supply the rain and you can direct its flow. 

God bless you. 

I love you.

Brian H. Fontaine

Leave a comment