Growing in God

Hey guys, this past Sunday God gave me a word of encouragement for spiritual growth that I’d like to share with you. 

“Father in Heaven, how we pray Your will is accomplished through this message.  I pray you speak to us through this message and Your Word.  I pray anything that is not of You will fall away.  God meet us here today and make known Your glory I pray as we turn our attention to You.  I pray this in Jesus Name.  Amen.”

So, I got up early Sunday morning and spent some time reading the Bible before the family got up.  I was sitting at the kitchen table in prayer.  As I sat with my eyes closed waiting on the Lord, I saw a vision of the throne of God.  Around the throne was very green, green grass.  Suddenly fully bloomed flowers started popping up everywhere there was grass.  Then I heard Him say, “New growth happens in the presence of the Lord.”

It seems like God is teaching me the same thing over and over.  Back on March 23rd I had asked God for a word.  He said to me, “The word is fire.  Let it burn bright, let it burn eternal.”  I believe what God is saying in different ways is this.  Allow the Holy Spirit to burn bright inside of you.  Don’t settle for a small flame.  There is a blaze of God’s glory He wants to reveal to you.  Again, the Lord says that new spiritual growth happens in His presence.  Did you catch the theme here?  God is encouraging me to get in and stay in His presence.  In the presence of God there is Holy Spirit fire to burn bright in your own life and to lead others to Him.  It is in the presence of God where new growth occurs.  I believe God is encouraging me, and I’d like to encourage you to spend as much time in the presence of God as possible. 

In John 15:5 Jesus said, “I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

If we want to bear the supernatural fruit of God in our lives, if we want to see a supernatural love, joy, and peace in our lives, we must abide in Christ.  The word abide means to live.  Where do you live?  Where to you abide? 

Psalm 91 is a powerful Psalm of Gods protection of His people.  It is a powerful word to declare over your life and in spiritual warfare.  But the promises of Psalm 91 are contingent on one thing.  The promises are for those who dwell in the shelter of the Most High, and those who have made the Lord your dwelling place. 

My encourage for you today is this.  Don’t allow the enemy to distract you from spending time in the presence of God.  Take time daily to pray and sit in His presence of listen for Him.  Allow God to send His Holy Spirit fire upon you!  Ask God to cause new growth in you.  And don’t forget to praise Him for He is so, so worthy! 

God bless you. 

I love you.

Brian H. Fontaine

Leave a comment